

CHARTER OF THE MOBIUS INSTITUTE BOARD OF CERTIFICATION FIELD LUBRICANT ANALYSIS TECHNICAL COMMITTEE

ED181 Version 4



1525 Frankston-Flinders Road Tyabb, Victoria, AUSTRALIA e-mail: miboc-accreditation@mobiusinstitute.com

Contents

Introduction	2
Terms and Definitions	2
Constitution	2
Terms of Reference	
Method of Working	3
Membershin	Δ



1525 Frankston-Flinders Road Tyabb, Victoria, AUSTRALIA e-mail: miboc-accreditation@mobiusinstitute.com

Introduction

This document, which describes the constitution, terms of reference and method of working of the Mobius Institute Board of Certification Field Lubricant Analysis Technical Committee (FLA TC), shall be approved by both the Condition Monitoring Scheme Committee (CM SC) and the MIBoC Board.

The Field Lubricant Analysis Technical Committee is concerned with technical matters relating to the certification of field lubricant analysis condition monitoring personnel, and its members should therefore have relevant expertise in this field.

Terms and Definitions

For the purposes of this document, the following definitions apply:

Authorized Training Organization (ATO) – Organization competent to administer a programme to train personnel in field lubricant analysis courses in accordance with ISO18436-3 and ISO18436-4, and is also approved within the certification programme by the certification body, MIBoC, to design and conduct such training to ensure adherence to training curricula specified in ISO18436-4.

Authorized Training Centre (ATC) – centre approved, authorized and monitored by Mobius Institute to administer Mobius Institute training courses where theoretical and practical instruction are administered

Authorized Examination Centre (AEC) – centre authorized and monitored by the Mobius Institute Board of Certification, being the Certification body, to administer and conduct MIBoC certification examinations

Constitution

The Board shall appoint an FLA Technical Committee Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary.

Ordinary members of the FLA TC shall be appointed by the Board and shall represent organizations and industries with specific interests and technical field lubricant analysis expertise.

FLA TC members shall be certified to at least Category II in Field Lubricant Analysis by a MIBoC approved certification body (as per *ED182 - Approved FLA Courses & Certifications*).

FLA TC members who are reviewing and approving questions for Category III exams shall be certified to Category III. However, during the transition period (a period not exceeding 5 years from MIBoC Field Lubricant Analysis certification scheme being implemented) members may be otherwise qualified, subject to the requirements of clause 11 in ISO 18436-1.

If an FLA TC member has a vested interest in the subject of any decision the committee makes, then that member must declare a conflict of interest and not participate in the decision-making process.

Interested parties wishing to become members of the FLA TC should contact MIBoC's Certification Manager.



1525 Frankston-Flinders Road Tyabb, Victoria, AUSTRALIA

e-mail: miboc-accreditation@mobiusinstitute.com

Terms of Reference

The MIBoC Field Lubricant Analysis Technical Committee shall provide expertise for the purposes of:

- 1. drafting, reviewing and approving examination questions;
- 2. high level analysis of examination results;
- 3. ensuring that scientific and technical developments in the field of field lubricant analysis are adequately catered for in the MIBoC examinations available;
- 4. undertaking regular review of MIBoC technical documentation and making recommendations for amendments of existing documents and the need for additional documents;
- 5. reviewing certifications from other organizations for potential approval of certification pre-requisites;
- 6. reviewing training course content for potential approval of ATOs and/or training course pre-requisites;
- 7. assessing applications for new ATOs;
- 8. input into the review of the performance of existing ATOs using audit guidelines;
- 9. providing an escalation point for decisions relating to:
 - a. certification;
 - b. complaints and appeals;
 - c. surveillance of certified FLA personnel;

FLA TC members who have a direct interest in the case of decisions relating to certification or complaints and appeal from certified FLA personnel shall not be involved in the decision-making process for the case in question.

FLA TC members shall at all times preserve the confidentiality of information to which they may gain access in the course of their duties.

Method of Working

The FLA TC shall meet as frequently as is deemed necessary by the committee. Meetings may be in the form of physical meetings, as well as video, internet and telephone conferencing or any other electronic means.

Notes and minutes of formal meetings shall be produced by the secretary and circulated to FLA TC members and the CM SC Chair.

The business of the FLA TC shall generally be conducted by consensus. If consensus cannot be reached, a vote will take place with the decision made by a simple majority. In the event of a tied vote, the committee chair has the deciding vote. Items for discussion shall not be deemed to be concluded until at least 75% of the members have approved/rejected a discussion item.

If requested, the Field Lubricant Analysis Technical Committee must provide to the CM SC and/or Board all necessary information, including reasons for all significant decisions, actions and the selection of persons responsible for particular activities in respect of certification.

The minutes of the FLA TC shall be available to the management review committees of MIBoC.

If the advice of the Field Lubricant Analysis Technical Committee is not respected in these matters by the CM SC or the Board, the Field Lubricant Analysis Technical Committee may take appropriate measures, which may include informing the accreditation body.



1525 Frankston-Flinders Road Tyabb, Victoria, AUSTRALIA e-mail: miboc-accreditation@mobiusinstitute.com

Membership

- Paul Dufresne (Chair)
- Mark Needham
- Sanya Mathura
- Jorge Alarcon
- Anthony Sana
- Leston Bethelmy (Vice Chair)
- Christopher Goonai
- Bill Fuller
- Bree-anna Dennis- (non-voting secretary)